Child molestation cases are unlike any other criminal cases in that the key witness is often a child. There is rarely an eyewitness or any physical evidence to either prove or disprove the allegations. If you have been accused of child molestation, your future hangs in the balance. For a first offense, you are facing five to 25 years in prison. Contact Wallack Law in Atlanta today for the aggressive criminal defense you need.
In Georgia, a person commits the offense of child molestation when he or she either:
A person convicted of child molestation in Georgia is guilty of a felony. For a first conviction, penalties include five to 25 years in prison. For a second or subsequent conviction, penalties increase to a prison term of 10 to 30 years or life. Child molestation also carries the requirement to register as a sex offender.
Defenses to child molestation charges will depend on the circumstances in your particular case. Some possible defenses include:
If you have been accused of child molestation, you are facing serious charges with heavy penalties, including a lengthy prison term and registration as a sex offender. Call Wallack Law ‘s Criminal defense attorneys in Atlanta as soon as possible for experienced criminal defense.